returning to my roots


i have been very busy, creating my signature collage scarves for upcoming shows and for galleries. i find my approach to these “compositions” is very painterly—my training is as a painter. it is like creating an abstract painting or an exercise in color. i use the nuno wet felting technique, but i have developed a technique where i work in layers, building on the scarf  until i feel it is done.  it is time consuming, involving wool, silk, moisture, heat and lots of physical labor.  there is always an element of chance in the creation of a work—will it come out the way i see it in my mind’s eye? you learn to embrace the happy accidents and learn from the not so happy ones, too.

i hope you like my new work–i would love to hear your comments-

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

please visit my website at http://www.dbkdesignarts.com and my facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/dbk.design.arts?created. thanks! dbk

This entry was posted in artisan, jewelry, one of a kind, wearable art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to returning to my roots

  1. OMGosh!! They are sooo gorgeous! Running to your shop now. If that second one is one there still, it’s mine, mine, mine! 🙂

  2. jean says:

    I love how you connect your panting training and background to your compositions. They are truly art pieces.

  3. Kim says:

    Your scarves are GORGEOUS!!!

  4. Linda Britt says:

    Your painting background definitely shows in your work. The scarves are gorgeous and I like your new work. The layering makes them really unique.

  5. elizabeth says:

    These are amazing. Love the black!!!!

  6. Renee Rokero says:

    These scarves are drop-dead-gorgeous!

  7. bananapeel@starpower.net says:

    great stuff….yeah deb….

  8. Deborah says:

    Debrah-I love everyone of them! So beautiful! I love the layering of material!

  9. Love the autumal shades and mixing of patterns! Gorgeous, just gorgeous!

  10. Joyce says:

    Absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! Just have to decide which one I want 🙂

  11. exquisite! i think we’re taking nuno felting to a whole new level…as for me working in this medium for 4 years, i have been aching to put my spin on the technique. you are so right on not always being sure of the outcome, but the journey is always fun and i think we learn from it! be bold and be daring! we’re artists, after all, and the gifts we have need to be shared! a friend of mine challenged me with my nuno felting by saying, “you have a healthy disregard for the materials you work with.” so it’s time for real creative play…

  12. Cindy says:

    Wow! Christmas ideas are dancing in my head! So very creative ;o)

  13. Jessica Falcon says:

    I love that autum scarf with the leaves!!!

Leave a Reply

